The Silent Era

The “Silent Era” would have been my era, if I had not been born 40 years to late, I am a lost 1920’s girl at heart, born into a time I do not truly understand, if I had have been born then I doubt I would have been an actress, or anything like that, I have the feeling I would probably have been a gangsters moll, who died too early and well before her time.

Silent Movies

Silent movies are my passion, Broken Blossoms is my favorite film from that era, it is the story of innocent love Lillian Gish and Richard Barthelmess are undoubtedly two of the most beautiful people I have ever seen on-screen together, corny in this day and age, but I like corny, Donald Crisp, is the villain and he does make a good one.


You can watch Broken Blossoms HERE if you do have look please feel free to come back and let me know if you liked it or not.

I will be adding to and up-dating this post later if any one is interested, because we can not have the Silent Era lost in the crowd now can we?
It has taken me 3 hours to work out how to add a gallery, what a job that was.

6 thoughts on “The Silent Era

  1. I wasn’t able to watch the whole thing this afternoon, but the part I watched was beautifully filmed. It’s worth noting that both Lillian Gish and Donald Crisp (who played the abusive father) had long careers. My favorite later Lillian Gish role was in Night of the Hunter (from 1955).

    Richard Barthelmess, on the other hand, didn’t make the transition from silent to sound very well.

    When I finish watching it I’ll give you my full impressions.

  2. While I do admire Griffith’s invention of many editing and camera techniques, his stories were corny even when they premiered. Gish is terrific in this film though, far above anyone else. That closet scene is something else. For more moving silent films with better acting you might try The Last Laugh, Sunrise, Pandora’s Box, He Who Gets Slapped or The Crowd.

    Chaplin’s late silents, City Lights and Modern Times, are special cases since they were made after sound was the norm. Like Bach’s Motets, done after the fashion was past, they review and elevate everything good about the silent era.

Leave a Reply

